Lenovo Announces 18 Finalists in Global Search for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Torchbearers

BEIJING, – October 11, 2007 – Lenovo, a worldwide leader in the PC market, announced today the 18 finalists selected to compete for the chance to participate in the Beijing 2008 Olympic Torch Relay. Lenovo launched the torchbearer search program with the help of Google to find “new thinkers” from around the world to run the torch in China. This is the longest ever Torch Relay in Olympic history with more cities visited than any past Games.

The final selection of the torchbearers is now in the public’s hands. Visitors to www.Lenovo.com/torch can help determine who will become one of the three potential torchbearer nominees. Each of the finalists has submitted a 30-second video clip demonstrating the most imaginative and innovative way they would participate in the Olympic Torch Relay demonstrating what makes them a ‘new thinker.’

Voting concludes at 10 a.m./ET on October 24, 2007. The top three vote-getters will be announced mid-November and be nominated by Lenovo to participate as torchbearers in the historic China portion of the Beijing 2008 Olympic Torch Relay.

Highlighting the global nature of the contest, the finalists are from eight countries including: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, and the United States. The finalist professions range from teachers to filmmakers to a former Olympian.

“As a worldwide partner of the Olympic Torch Relay, we are very excited to bring torchbearer opportunities to the general public. This is an innovative approach to torchbearer nomination,” said Deepak Advani, Senior Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer of Lenovo. “Using Google’s search and hosting platforms, we have identified 18 people to have the chance to demonstrate their Olympic spirit with a 30-second video. When it comes to ‘new thinkers,’ Lenovo is looking for someone who finds creative solutions to bring about global change. This is a unique opportunity to make someone a part of Olympic history.”

The criteria for a “new thinker”:

  • Motivator – One who inspires the community to achieve goals and conquer obstacles
  • Provocative – One who disregards traditional boundaries in carrying out a great and difficult endeavor
  • Imaginative – One who thinks “outside the box” – outside of national and cultural limitations
  • Individualistic – One who demonstrates independence in both their thoughts and their action
  • Explorer – One who seeks new ways of doing and achieving

To show appreciation for “New Thinkers” registering in the campaign, Lenovo managed weekly promotions to award them Lenovo Olympic pins and Olympic Torch-themed notebook PCs. Lenovo, winner of multiple awards in PC design, is also the designer of the Beijing 2008 Olympic Torch.

The official torch lighting will take place in Olympia, Greece, in March 2008. The torch is planned to travel to 21 cities in five continents before spending 97 days traveling to more than 100 cities in Mainland China. It will arrive at its final destination in Beijing on August 8, 2008, marking the start of the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games.

About Lenovo
Lenovo (HKSE: 992) (ADR: LNVGY) is dedicated to building the world’s best engineered personal computers. Lenovo’s business model is built on innovation, operational efficiency and customer satisfaction as well as a focus on investment in emerging markets. Formed by Lenovo Group’s acquisition of the former IBM Personal Computing Division, the company develops, manufactures and markets reliable high-quality, secure and easy-to-use technology products and services worldwide. Lenovo has major research centers in Yamato, Japan; Beijing, Shanghai and Shenzhen, China; and Raleigh, North Carolina. For more information, see www.lenovo.com.

# # #


Diana Mondino – Argentina
Mateus Laurito Del Conte – Brazil
Thales Ma – Brazil
Dariusz Slowik – Canada
David Porteous – Canada
Erin Roy – Canada
David Kamanda Ngugi – Germany
Jessica Kurz – Germany
Rajib Maitra – India
Valentino Stabile – Italy
Miyuki Saito – Japan
Rodney Johnson – Japan
Deborah Williamson – United States
Lisa Ely – United States
Kimi Puntillo – United States
Linda Bilak – United States
Carissa Beatty – United States
Amy Elizabeth Coffey – United States

Source link

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.